Read later
  • 06 Feb 2015

ASPA elects new governing body

L to R: Mukesh Goyal, director, Gopsons Paper; Luv Shriram, managing director, Shriram Veritech; Arun Aggarwal, chief executive officer, Kantas Track-Pack; Umendra Kumar Gupta, chairman and managing director of Holostik India; Nakul Pasricha, Chief Operating Officer of PharmaSecure and Deepak Gupta, director, Shree Lamipack

In its first elections since re-launching last year, the Authentication Solution Providers’ Association (ASPA) elected Umendra Kumar Gupta, chairman and managing director of Holostik India, as its new president and Nakul Pasricha, chief operating officer of PharmaSecure, as vice president.

Gupta is one of the founding members of ASPA and served as the Association’s president from 1998 to 2006 and from 2008 to 2010. Gupta is the only Indian holographer to receive the Brian Monaghan Award for Business Innovation from the International Hologram Manufacturers Association for his contribution to the development of the hologram industry.
Gupta said, ‘Today, nearly every industry such as pharmaceuticals, FMCG and others face the menace of dealing with high-tech, sophisticated counterfeiting. Our government seems proactive on taking a holistic approach to consumer protection and public welfare. ASPA as an industry body is aligned to support them in protecting brands and safeguarding consumer interest and our member companies are fully geared up to help industries meet this challenge.’
On being elected as the vice president, Pasricha said, ‘I am thrilled to be a part of such a progressive association that is both young and mature. As the industry morphs to address the changing needs of brand protection, ASPA took the bold and proactive decision to re-align its focus with a vision of becoming a global voice of the authentication solution provider. And now, it is exciting to see the Association offering new members like us an opportunity to take on leadership roles to help shape its vision and future.’
The governing body also includes Arun Aggarwal, chief executive officer, Kantas Track-Pack, who will serve as the general secretary and treasurer of ASPA, Luv Shriram, managing director, Shriram Veritech, and Deepak Gupta, director, Shree Lamipack. The elected governing body has also invited Nityanand S. Shenoy, president and managing director, PRS Permacel and Mukesh Goyal, director, Gopsons Paper as two additional co-opted members. Immediate past president Manoj Kochar, director, Holoflex, will continue to be on the governing body as an ex-officio member.
Since its re-launch in October 2014, ASPA’s membership has increased by nearly 25 percent. The Association celebrated its 16th Anniversary in December, and aims to become the voice of authentication solution providers in Asia and around the world. ASPA works closely with global authorities such as the International Hologram Manufacturers Association (IHMA), Counterfeit Intelligence Bureau (CIB) and Interpol, as well as industry bodies in India such as FICCI CASCADE, CII, ASSOCHAM and Indian Institute of Packaging. Recently, two ASPA members were also appointed to represent Asia on the IHMA Board. 


The Labels & Labeling global editorial team covers every corner of the world from Europe and the Americas, to India, Asia, Southeast Asia and Australasia with all the latest news from the label and package printing market.

See author’s profile »