Read later
  • 13 Oct 2020

International Print Day and Girls Who Print Day go back-to-back

International Print Day and Girls Who Print Day go back-to-back

International Print Day 2020 (#IPD20) prepares for its seventh year, and print will once again trend the planet through 24 hours of social media sharing on October 21st; this is closely followed by Girls Who Print day on October 22nd.

The celebration gets underway at 6PM Eastern Time in the United States on October 20th (11AM NZT in New Zealand / 9AM AET in Australia on Oct 21st) and finishes 24 hours later in the United States at 6PM Eastern Time on October 21st.

The global print community will use social media to network, exchange knowledge and information, and proclaim their love for print and the people that make it possible by following and sharing using the hashtag #IPD20. Last year’s event generated more than 12 million impressions, with more than 100 million impressions recorded to date. Print fans can support this year’s theme by also using the hashtag #ElevatePrint, continuing the Print Media Centr mission to help raise the industry to the next level through partnerships, products, and services as well as through diversity and inclusion.

IPD always takes place on a Wednesday to coincide with #PrintChat, a Twitter chat taking place every Wednesday at 4PM ET. With more than 1.7 billion social media impressions to date, joining #PrintChat on October 21st is a way to expand your network and exchange ideas with the global community.

This year, #IPD20 will also mark the countdown to the PRINTING United Digital Experience, which will include three comprehensive weeks of cross-segment programming and new product launches taking place online from Oct 26 – Nov 12.

October 22nd marks this year’s #GirlsWhoPrint Day, which is going virtual for 2020 and will include the presentation of the Girlie Award and the annual Women in Leadership panel.

Deborah Corn, principal at Print Media Centr, founder of International Print Day and Girl #1 at Girls Who Print, said: ‘Despite these challenging times, there is a trifecta of “printspiration” for print lovers to look forward to in October. The International Print Day theme of #ElevatePrint is especially poignant and hopefully punctuates that getting back to “normal” shouldn’t be the goal of the industry. Girls Who Print Day follows on the 22nd with the support of more than 60 industry partners and the PRINTING United Digital Experience gets underway on October 26th. It is so important that we keep participating in initiatives that are bringing us together – even through a screen. Together, we are better; together, we find a way to make it happen; together, we “Print Long and Prosper.”’

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

The Labels & Labeling global editorial team covers every corner of the world from Europe and the Americas, to India, Asia, Southeast Asia and Australasia with all the latest news from the label and package printing market.

See author’s profile »